On the Learning Curve

Hi there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Claire and I am an occupational therapist (worked 10.5 months now!) on pursuit to become a Certified Hand Therapist (CHT). I’m originally from Los Angeles, but was so fortunate to find TherapySolutions, a small, privately-owned physical therapy clinic in Richland, WA. I decided to move to an area where I knew not a soul because there really was, and is, no other clinic like TherapySolutions. Here we have occupational therapists (OT), physical therapists (PT), massage therapists, a counselor, a nutritionist/personal trainer, as well as an acupuncturist! Our specialties include hand therapy, Women’s Health, and Manual Lymphatic Drainage. Tell me, where else can you find a place that uses this kind of holistic approach + treats their clients for the full hour, one-on-one? Pardon if it sounds like I’m bragging, but I kind of am 🙂 If you want to learn more about our clinic and how we can assist you with your aches, pains, and overall well-being, check us out at http://therapy-solutions.us/.

Anyways, a little more about this blog. I’ve decided to start this blog as a way to share clinically relevant information that I come across in the clinic, as well as in the literature. Not only is it my responsibility as a health care professional to stay up-to-date on the latest research on treatment and prevention methods, but I also strongly believe in educating others on how to live healthier lives. Even though I received my bachelors degree in Exercise Biology and masters in Occupational Therapy, I still was completely oblivious on subjects such as the effects of body positioning on our nerves, the damaging effects of swelling, the benefits of eating an anti-inflammatory diet…things which every person should be taught in high school because, quite frankly, our bodies aren’t getting any younger and we should know how to take care of it! Ever since I’ve began working at TherapySolutions, my own health has significantly improved, and I want others to at least have the knowledge on how to take care of their bodies.

Since I’ve learned the value and significance of treating the body holistically, I’ll also share articles on nutrition, exercise, meditation, and such–all which can significantly affect the condition of our hands. If you have suggestions, questions, or anything of the like, please feel free to comment or send me an email.

They say you’re on the learning curve the first few years of working. So join me, as I climb up this curve and take on this journey to become a CHT, where we can both learn hand in hand, how to treat and maintain, healthy hands and healthy lives.

 

Leave a Reply

